ESPN analysis: DiMaria fell to the ground as a “soft penalty”, but it can be judged that Otamendi should be sent off.

December 19-in the World Cup final, Argentina beat France through penalty shootouts to win the championship. Some of the decisions in this game caused controversy after the game. ESPN analyzed several decisions in which VAR was involved in the game.
Should the fall of DiMaria’s restricted area be a penalty?
Match situation: in the 21st minute of the game, after Di Maria burst into the restricted area, she tripped over Dembele and the referee took a penalty.
VAR decided: it was a penalty.
VAR penalty Analysis:
It was obviously a “soft penalty”, but VAR will not overturn the decision. The referee’s decision is the most important. As long as the VAR confirms that there is a real possibility of tripping contact, it will not overturn the referee’s decision. But if the referee does not award the penalty first, but let the VAR check, then the VAR will probably not decide the point.
It can be said that Dembele did not even make a real defensive action, but in judging the point, your intention is not important. He is responsible for the space he occupies. In the case of chasing DiMaria and getting close to him, Dembele actually touched DiMaria’s foot, causing DiMaria to fall to the ground.
Was it a penalty to knock down McAllister at Pamecano?
Game: in the 62nd minute of the game, McAllister fell to the ground after being hit by Pamecano in the restricted area. The referee did not foul and signaled that the game would continue.
VAR penalty: not a penalty
VAR penalty Analysis:
Is shoulder collision allowed in football matches? It is allowed, but it must meet the conditions of “reasonable collision”. The defender needs to be roughly parallel to the opponent, not completely from behind, and cannot use his arms or elbows.
Yu Pa’s defense just meets the conditions and is a reasonable collision.
Should Otamendi get a red card?
Match situation: in the 79th minute of the game, Otamendi knocked down Muani in the restricted area and the referee took a penalty.
VAR penalty: no red card
VAR penalty Analysis:
There must be no problem with penalty kicks, but should Otamendi get a red card? First of all, it is worth mentioning that Otamendi didn’t even get a yellow card.
It is true that when a penalty is awarded, there is no additional red card for destroying the obvious goal opportunity, but this only applies if the defender is really trying to regain the ball. If you pull or trip your opponent, you should still give a red card.
The referee was obviously too cautious and did not even consider that Otamendi was “ruining the obvious chance to score a goal”.
Is it a penalty for Thuram to fall to the ground in the penalty area?
VAR penalty analysis: match situation: in the 87th minute of the game, Thuram fell to the ground after a collision with Enzo Fernandez in the restricted area, and the referee penalized the former for diving.
VAR penalty: not a penalty
VAR penalty Analysis:
This is a typical case where an attacking player tries to win a penalty by contacting a defender. Thuram tried to break through, and after Enzo Fernandez stopped, Thuram put his right foot on the Argentine’s foot.
Is Montiel’s handball a penalty?
Game: in the 114th minute of the game, Mbappe shot, Montiel handball, the referee awarded a penalty
VAR decided: it was a penalty.
VAR penalty Analysis:
A textbook case of handball penalties. Montiel turned around, while the arm left the body, expanding his body area, clearly blocking Mbappe’s shot.
This time, the referee also gave the necessary yellow card.